The Punisher (1989)

220px-Punisher89poster

Toilet Review: Sometimes I have to remind myself I do this to myself voluntarily. When I decided to do this whole “every Marvel movie evar!!1” thing, I was expecting something a little more than… this.

Maybe I’m being a little harsh. It’s almost the quintessential 1980s action movie that is just on the wrong side of cheesy. It has the brooding hero, with a tragic backstory, cleaning up crime in a city gone wrong. Stop me if you’ve heard this one before.

“The Punisher” comics are graphic and violent, yet they are somewhere endearing. You cannot help but feel Frank Castle’s pain at losing his wife and children. You cannot help but wonder about his story before them, his time at war, his training that makes him in to a killer. There are just so many questions that probe the character that is Frank Castle and his persona “Punisher”.

However, the movie “The Punisher” does no such thing. Frank is the typical antihero of the 1980s and it’s hard to feel anything for him. Part of this could be due the extremely dull storyline of the movie, wherein the Japanese Yakuza are taking over the New York mob. Part of it could be Dolph Lundgren’s portrayal of Frank. It’s just a little too stilted, a little too “dark and mysterious” and honestly, I was just wanting the movie to be over pretty much the entire time.

It’s a shame really, but I don’t think any studio will be able to do justice to “The Punisher”, solely because of the level of violence involved.

Leave a comment